Buckets

Buckets are a simple way to organize your requests and tests. For instance, you may want to create separate buckets for each of your apps, environments, projects or customers.


Creating Buckets

Create a bucket by selecting Create Bucket from the bucket selector. Once created, a unique Bucket Key will be created. You will use this key in the hostname of the Gateway URL you generate to indicate that you want that request to be stored in the associated bucket.

Request Retention

Every bucket has a limit on the number of requests it will retain at any given time in accordance with your current plan (you can view your usage limits in your list of teams). Once the limit is reached, the oldest requests in the bucket will be pruned. Shared requests and requests that have been added to one or more collections will be skipped during pruning.

Bucket Authentication

To require an auth token to be used when making requests with your bucket key, select Bucket Settings in the left sidebar and turn on the option to 'Require Authentication Token'. After saving your changes, your authentication token will be displayed. Use this token in an HTTP header or URL parameter named Runscope-Bucket-Auth in subsequent requests. Requests made without the token will fail.

Bucket keys are very difficult to guess and write-only. If someone discovers your bucket key, they will not be able to access any of your request history. If your bucket key has been exposed publicly and you'd like to generate a new one, contact support.

SSL Certificate Verification

By default, Runscope will only relay responses if the SSL certificate from the upstream API provider is valid and trusted. To bypass this protection (for instance if you're using a self-signed certificate) on a per-bucket basis, select Bucket Settings in the left sidebar and deselect the option to 'Verify SSL Certificates'.

Clearing All Requests

Clearing a bucket will permanently remove all of the requests in that bucket, but will not delete the bucket or remove any tests. To clear all the requests within a bucket, select Bucket Settings in the left sidebar and click 'Clear Bucket'.

Deleting a Bucket

Deleting a bucket is permanent and cannot be undone. To delete a bucket and all associated requests and tests, select Bucket Settings in the left sidebar and click 'Delete Bucket'. The default bucket for your account cannot be deleted. You can clear it and rename it instead.

Renaming a Bucket

To rename a bucket, select Bucket Settings in the left sidebar. Enter the new name and select 'Save Changes'.